Pulitzer Prizes: 2024 Winners List


The Pulitzer committee honored ProPublica for the work of Joshua Kaplan, Justin Elliott, Brett Murphy, Alex Mierjeski and Kirsten Berg, citing their “groundbreaking and ambitious reporting that pierced the thick wall of secrecy surrounding the Supreme Court.”

Finalists KFF Health News and Cox Media Group; The Washington Post


Lookout Santa Cruz won for “its detailed and nimble community-focused coverage, over a holiday weekend, of catastrophic flooding and mudslides that displaced thousands of residents and destroyed more than 1,000 homes and businesses.”

Finalists Staff of the Honolulu Civil Beat; Staff of the Los Angeles Times


Ms. Dreier was honored for “a deeply reported series of stories revealing the stunning reach of migrant child labor across the United States — and the corporate and governmental failures that perpetuate it.”

Finalists Staff of Bloomberg; Casey Ross and Robert Herman of Stat


Ms. Stillman’s work was a “searing indictment of our legal system’s reliance on the felony murder charge and its disparate consequences, often devastating for communities of color,” the committee said.

Finalists Staff of Bloomberg; Staffs of The Texas Tribune, ProPublica and Frontline


Ms. Conway and Ms. Reynolds-Tyler were honored for “their investigative series on missing Black girls and women in Chicago that revealed how systemic racism and police department neglect contributed to the crisis.”

Finalists Jerry Mitchell, Ilyssa Daly, Brian Howey and Nate Rosenfield of Mississippi Today and The New York Times; Staff of The Villages Daily Sun


This year’s national reporting category had two winners. The staff of Reuters won for “an eye-opening series of accountability stories” focused on the automobile and aerospace businesses helmed by the billionaire Elon Musk. The Staff of The Washington Post won for “its sobering examination of the AR-15 semiautomatic rifle.”

Finalists Bianca Vázquez Toness and Sharon Lurye of The Associated Press; Dave Philipps of The New York Times


The New York Times won for its “wide-ranging and revelatory coverage of Hamas’ lethal attack in southern Israel on Oct. 7, Israel’s intelligence failures and the Israeli military’s sweeping, deadly response in Gaza,” the committee said.

Finalists Julie Turkewitz and Federico Rios of The New York Times; Staff of The Washington Post

Feature writing

Ms. Engelhart was honored “for her fair-minded portrait of a family’s legal and emotional struggles during a matriarch’s progressive dementia.” Her story “sensitively probes the mystery of a person’s essential self,” the committee said.

Finalists Keri Blakinger of The Marshall Project, co-published with The New York Times Magazine; Jennifer Senior of The Atlantic


The committee highlighted Mr. Kara-Murza’s “passionate columns written at great personal risk from his prison cell, warning of the consequences of dissent in Vladimir Putin’s Russia and insisting on a democratic future for his country.”

Finalists Brian Lyman of the Alabama Reflector; Jay Caspian Kang of The New Yorker

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *